Press Releases

Denver to Host 94th Annual NFHS Summer Meeting

Posted: 06-11-2013 | Categories: LHSADA, LHSCA, Administrators, Coaches

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (June 11, 2013) — The 94th annual National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Summer Meeting will be held June 23-27 at the Hyatt Regency Denver at Colorado Convention Center in Denver, Colorado.

The NFHS is the national leadership organization for high school athletic and performing arts activities and is composed of state high school associations in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia.

More than 800 individuals are expected to attend the Summer Meeting, including staff members and board members from the 51 member associations.

The 31st annual induction ceremony of the National High School Hall of Fame and discussion of several key issues affecting high school sports and performing arts highlight this year’s agenda.

Thirteen individuals will be inducted into the 2013 National High School Hall of Fame class, including basketball star Chauncey Billups of Colorado, former New Jersey high school and National Football League (NFL) quarterback Joe Theismann and former Olympic gold-medalist and track standout Harrison Dillard from Ohio.

Billups, who led his Denver (Colorado) George Washington High School teams to two state championships, just completed his 16th season in the National Basketball Association playing for the Los Angeles Clippers. Theismann, a three-sport star at South River (New Jersey) High School in the mid 1960s, led the Washington Redskins to victory in Super Bowl XVII. Dillard, who helped Cleveland East Technical High School to three consecutive state track titles more than 70 years ago, went on to win four gold medals in two Olympic Games (1948, 1952).

Among the topics that will be discussed at the 42 workshops during the NFHS Summer Meeting are the future of education-based athletics, social networks, students with disabilities in athletics, heat illness prevention, sportsmanship, dealing with parents of elite athletes and legal issues.

Students from the Denver area will present a “We Are High School®” program at the Opening General Session on June 24. It will feature students from Denver (Colorado) School of the Arts and Aurora (Colorado) Regis Jesuit High School. In addition, Logan County (Kentucky) High School and Magoffin County (Kentucky) High School will be honored with the NFHS National High School Spirit of Sport Award.

The Second General Session on June 25 will feature NFHS President Kevin Charles, NFHS Executive Director Bob Gardner, Special Olympics Chairman of the Board and CEO Tim Shriver and various NFHS staff members. They will provide reports on several NFHS initiatives and programs.

Tom Mezzanotte, a member of the NFHS Board of Directors and Rhode Island Interscholastic League executive director, will preside over the Closing General Session on Thursday, June 27, which will feature Carl Hurley, “America’s Funniest Professor.”

The Summer Meeting Luncheon will be held at 12 p.m. on June 25, and will feature the presentation of NFHS Citations to 12 individuals. State association honorees include Lloyd Mott of New York, Mike Hayden of West Virginia, Rick Strunk of North Carolina, Bernard (Bud) Legg of Iowa, Bob Lowery of South Dakota, Gary Tripp of New Mexico, Craig Hammer of Utah and Lavonne Norman of Alaska.

Other Citation recipients are Roger Barr of Iowa (NFHS Officials Association), Ellis Lane of Massachusetts (NFHS Coaches Association), Dana Hamant of Kansas (NFHS Music Association) and Jana Riggins of Texas (NFHS Speech/Debate/Theatre Association).

Dr. Michael Koester, staff physician at Slocum Center for Orthopedics and Sports Medicine in Eugene, Oregon, will be honored with the NFHS Award of Merit at the Luncheon as well. Koester has assisted the NFHS and other sports organizations to raise concussion awareness at the high school level. He recently completed a five-year term on the NFHS Sports Medicine Advisory Committee, three of which were as chair.

The NFHS Summer Meeting will conclude at 6 p.m. on Thursday, June 27 with the induction of the 2013 class of the National High School Hall of Fame.

In addition to Billups, Theismann and Dillard, the other former high school athlete in this year’s Hall of Fame class is Missouri’s Kristin Folkl Kaburakis, who helped St. Joseph’s Academy (St. Louis) to four volleyball and four basketball state titles in her four years, capped off by receiving the 1994 Dial Award as the top female high school athlete in the country.

High school coaches slated for induction this year include Ed Aston, who led the Cheshire (Connecticut) girls swimming team to 281 consecutive dual-meet victories, a national record; Chuck Koeppen, who won 23 state championships — most in Indiana history — during his 37 years as a track and cross country coach at Carmel High School; Chuck Lenahan, the winningest football coach in New Hampshire history from Plymouth High School; Mike Messere, who has more wins than any high school or college lacrosse coach during his 37 years at West Genesee High School in Camillus, New York; and Jim Tate, who has won 89 state championships as track and cross country coach during his 35 years at St. Paul’s Episcopal High School in Mobile, Alabama.

Jerry Kimmel, who assisted the Kentucky High School Athletic Association with assigning, training and recruiting officials for 40 years, and Haig Nighohossian, who has officiated 48 soccer and wrestling state championships in Illinois, are this year’s honorees in the Officials category.

The final members of the 2013 class are Richard Floyd, who is retiring this year as director of music for the Texas University Interscholastic League after 29 years, and Ronnie Carter, who served as executive director of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association for 23 years.

# # #

About the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS)
The NFHS, based in Indianapolis, Indiana, is the national leadership organization for high school sports and performing arts activities. Since 1920, the NFHS has led the development of education-based interscholastic sports and performing arts activities that help students succeed in their lives. The NFHS sets direction for the future by building awareness and support, improving the participation experience, establishing consistent standards and rules for competition, and helping those who oversee high school sports and activities. The NFHS writes playing rules for 17 sports for boys and girls at the high school level. Through its 50 member state associations and the District of Columbia, the NFHS reaches more than 19,000 high schools and 11 million participants in high school activity programs, including more than 7.6 million in high school sports. As the recognized national authority on interscholastic activity programs, the NFHS conducts national meetings; sanctions interstate events; offers online publications and services for high school coaches and officials; sponsors professional organizations for high school coaches, officials, speech and debate coaches, and music adjudicators; serves as the national source for interscholastic coach training; and serves as a national information resource of interscholastic athletics and activities. For more information, visit the NFHS Web site at

Bruce Howard, 317-972-6900
National Federation of State High School Associations
PO Box 690, Indianapolis, Indiana 46206

Browse Press Releases