Louisiana High School Coaches Association
Elevating Coaches Beyond the Game

  • Jul.15.2024
    LHSCA Golf Tournament
  • Jul.16.2024
    LHSCA Coaches Convention
  • Jul.16.2024
    LHSCA Dead Period for all Practices
  • Jul.17.2024
    LHSCA Coaches Convention
  • Jul.18.2023
    LHSAA Mandated Dead Period
  • Jul.18.2023
    LHSCA Coaches Convention
  • Jul.19.2023
    LHSCA Coaches Convention
  • Jul.19.2023
    LHSAA Mandated Dead Period
  • Sep.19.2023
    LHSCA: Volleyball All-Star Nominations Deadline
  • Oct.28.2023
    LHSCA: Tennis All-Star Event
  • Nov.18.2023
    LHSCA/LVCA: Volleyball All-Star Match
  • Dec.02.2023
    LHSCA: Swimming All-Star Meet of Champions
  • Dec.08.2023
    LFCA Coaches' Clinic

LHSCA Coaches Convention

2024 Hotel Information

Click on the LINK for the LHSCA Convention hotel rate. Book now as rooms will be filling up soon. - Booking Code for reservations is CSC.

2024 LHSCA Convention Agenda

Exhibitor Registration

2024 Golf Scramble Registration

Coaching Cards

It will be the responsibility of each LHSAA Member School to print out and post the coaching card sign as well as educating their workers on the rules and procedures regarding the coaches’ cards.

Rules Clinics for 2022-23

    Monday, July 24 – Sunday, Aug. 20, 2023 (online)
    Monday, August 7 – Sunday, Aug. 20, 2023 (online)
    Monday, Sept. 18- Sunday, Oct. 8, 2023 (online)
    Monday, Sept. 25 - Sunday, Oct. 22, 2023 (online)
    Monday, Sept. 25 - Sunday, Oct. 22, 2023 (online)
    Monday, Dec. 18, 2023 – Sunday, Jan. 14, 2024 (online)
    Monday,Dec. 18, 2023 – Sunday, Jan. 21, 2024 (online)
    Monday, Jan. 8 – Sunday, Feb. 4, 2024 (online)



Eric Held, Director

Executive Council

Past President and Football Rep:
Dwain Jenkins
Past President:
Frank Daggs
Brandon Brown
1st Vice-President and LHSBCA President:
Christopher Kovatch
2nd Vice-President:
LaVanta Davis
Baseball Rep:
Tim O’Neal
Softball Rep:
Amy Pitre
Golf Rep:
Meredith Duncan
Tennis Rep:
Brent Broussard
Soccer Rep:
Chad Vidrine
Wrestling Rep:
Dan Erwin
Cross Country Rep:
Drew Haro
John Talley
Track & Field Director:
Trent Ellis
Volleyball Rep:
Patrick Ricks
Gymnastics Rep:
Julie Anderson
Powerlifting Rep:
Joe Ryan
Swimming Rep:
Dale Turner
Bowling Rep:
Phil Godley
Senior Staff:
Jay Dykes
LHSCA Historian:
Dwayne Thomassee

Contact Us

For more information regarding the Coaches Association, please contact Eric Held, Director.

LHSCA Coaches Convention

July 15th-17th, 2024

Crowne Plaza - Baton Rouge


2023 LHSCA Coaches Convention Highlights

About Us

The Louisiana High School Coaches Association (LHSCA) was established in 1938 as a sub-entity of the Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) in order to help maintain the highest possible standards in athletics and the coaching profession in Louisiana high schools. Since LHSCA’s creation, the association has grown to include approximately 12,000 Louisiana high school coaches, administrators, athletic directors and superintendents.
The mission of the Louisiana High School Coaches Association is to “elevate coaches beyond the game.”
  • Emphasize the proper ideals of sportsmanship, ethical conduct and fair play.
  • Eliminate all possibilities which tend to destroy the best values of the game.
  • Stress the values derived from playing the game fairly.
  • Show cordial courtesy to visiting teams and officials.
  • Establish a happy relationship between visitors and hosts.
  • Respect the integrity and judgment of sports' officials.
  • Achieve a thorough understanding and acceptance of the rules of the game and standards of eligibility.
  • Recognize that the purpose of athletics is to promote the physical, mental, moral, social and emotional well being of the individual players.
  • Remember an athletic contest is only a game - not a matter of life or death for a player, coach, school, official, fan, community, state or nation.

Our Partners! 

    About Us | BSN SPORTS



Follow us! 



Past Presidents

Cecil Crowley—Haynesville  1938     
Johnny Brechtel—Warren Easton  1939     
Alvin "Cracker" Brown—Minden  1940     
Ellis Brown—Istrouma  1941     
Clayton Cornish—Bossier City  1942     
Gernon Brown—Jesuit  1943-46     
R.S. Killen—Lake Charles  1947     
Faize Mahfouz—Eunice  1948    
Joe Oliphant—Minden  1949    
William "Buck" Seeber—Terrebonne1950     
Billy Baucum—Springhill   1951    
James E. Brown—Istrouma 1952    
Jack Rowan—Byrd  1953     
Bud Ducharme—Opelousas  1954     
Ed McDearmont—Slidell  1955    
George Doherty—Minden 1956    
Jimmy Austin—Lake Charles   1957     
Tim Moran—St. John's (Shreveport) 1958     
Benny Ellender—Sulphur  1959    
L. J. "Hoss" Garrett—Ruston  1960    
C. L. Starnes—Jackson  1961    
Elton Kelley—Minden  1962     
Vane T. Wilson—University High  1963     
Racer Holstead—Tallulah  1964     
Fred Waites—Dutchtown  1965     
Eddie Harelson—Jennings  1966     
James E. Brown—Istrouma 1967     
Warren Douglas—Marksville  1968    
Leo Bossier—Woodlawn (B.R.)  1969     
Vaughn Ellender—Sam Houston  1970     
Lewis Murray—Bogalusa  1971    
Johnny Buck—Kinder  1972     
Louis E. Carlisle—Denham Springs 1973     
Lee Hedges—Captain Shreve  1974     
Gale Breaux—Cathedral Carmel 1975     
Charlie Brown—Neville 1976     
Jimmy Gilbert—University High  1977    
Alton Franklin—Haynesville  1978     
Jim Robarts—Rummel  1979     
Bobby McHalffey-Haughton  1980     
Pete Boudreaux-Catholic  1981     
David Moore-LaGrange 1982    
C. J. Alexander—Donaldsonville  1983     
Grover Colvin—Parkway  1984     
Charles Baglio, Jr.—Independence 1985     
Kathy Holloway—Tioga  1986     
B. J. Guzzardo, Jr. —Kentwood 1987     
Carroll Delahoussaye—St. Martinville 1988    
H. "Butch" Wax—Denham Springs 1989    
Bob Gros—Central Lafourche 1990     
Charles Baglio, Jr.—Independence1991     
Lewis Cook—Crowley 1992    
C. J. Alexander—Plaquemine  1992     
Tim Detillier—Lutcher  1993     
Kirk Crochet-Loreauville  1994     
David Currier-Kentwood  1995     
Keith Menard—Sacred Heart, V.P. 1996     
Butch Stoker—Alexandria 1997    
Mike Johns—LaGrange 1998     
Joe Kleinpter—Fontainebleau  1999     
Randy Breaux—Central Lafourche 2000     
Wayde Keiser—East St. John 2001     
Don Jones—Plaquemine  2002     
Gary Duhe—St. Amant  2003     
Ted Nixon—Barbe  2004     
David Swacker—St. Amant 2005     
Don Torres-Assumption 2006     
Myra Mansur, Episcopal  2007     
Durell Peloquin, Eunice  2008     
Zach Winfield, Baton Rouge  2009     
Rory Hollier, Merryville  2010     
Sam Messina, Loranger  2011     
Randy Johnson, Ascension Epis.  2012     
Gary Duhe, St. Amant  2013     
Terence Williams, Redemptorist  2014   
Jay Dykes, Donaldsonville 2015   
Dwayne Thomassee, St. Amant 2016   
Freddie Harrison, Washington Marion 2017
Dwain Jenkins, Lutcher 2018-2019
Frank Daggs, McDonogh 35 2020